How To Disable P2P Functionality

How To Disable P2P Functionality

Amcrest Cameras are set by default to open connections to the Amcrest View P2P Portal (hosted by Amazon AWS in the US) as well as Amcrest Cloud video recording service (hosted by Amazon AWS in the US). All connections and data are secured using HTTPS and SSL encryption. Amcrest is an independently owned and operated United States company with all its shareholders being US citizens.

With respect to the Amcrest Cloud connection, each time your camera is powered on it goes in to "listening" mode for 2 hours while waiting for a confirmed connection from Amcrest Cloud. If you do not set up your Amcrest Cloud within 2 hours, the signal will stop. For more information on this feature please click here 

Thus, in order to prevent Amcrest cameras from pinging the Amcrest Cloud server, simply wait 2 hours without connecting the camera to Amcrest Cloud and the connections will automatically stop. If you want to connect to the cloud in the future, simply power cycle (power off/on) your camera and the cloud connection window will open up for another 2 hours. Conversely, to begin disabling the Amcrest View P2P connection for your device, please follow the step by step instructions provided below. 

IP Cameras

Step 1: Access the web UI for the camera via a laptop or PC. For more information on how to access the web UI for your device, please click here

Note: The web UI is currently only compatible with Internet Explorer, Chrome, or Safari. Please use only these compatible web browsers to access the web UI for your device. For more information on how to access your camera using Google Chrome, please click here.

Step 2: Once you have successfully logged into the web UI for your device, navigate to Setup>>Network>>TCP/IP>>P2P and deselect the Enable check box to disable P2P. Be sure to click Save afterward to save your settings to the device. 

P2P1.PNG

DVR/NVR

Disabling the P2P functionality for your DVR/NVR can be done either directly in the device's main user interface or via the device's web UI on a computer or laptop. Conversely, it is highly recommended to perform this action directly from the main user interface of the device. To begin disabling the P2P connection of your DVR/NVR, please follow the step by step instructions provided below. 

Step 1: Make sure your device is connected to a monitor (VGA or HDMI) and attach an Ethernet cable to the Ethernet port on the back of your device. Once it is connected, power on the device with a compatible power adapter and allow the device to initialize. 

Note: Please also attach a USB mouse to the unit to navigate through the screens.  

Step 2: Once your device has initialized, log in using the log in credentials for your device, (username and password). If this is your first time logging into your device the username and password will be admin

Step 3: Once logged in, navigate to the main menu of the device and in the Settings menu, click on Network to access the network menu. 

P2P2.PNG

Step 4: Inside the network menu, navigate to the last (bottom) section of the menu, and click on the tab labeled, P2P. In this menu, deselect the Enable checkbox to disable P2P. Make sure to also click on Apply and Save to save and apply the setting to your device. 

P2P3.PNG

Note: If your DVR/NVR is not hooked up to a monitor (VGA or HDMI) and wish to disable the P2P for your device on a laptop or PC, please follow the instructions set listed below. 

Step 1: Access the web UI for your device and login with the username and password associated with your device. If this is your first time logging in, the default username and password will be admin. For more information on how to access your device locally on a laptop or PC, please click here

Note: When accessing your DVR/NVR via its web UI on a laptop or PC, please only use either Internet Explorer or Safari. Google Chrome is not a viable option for DVR/NVR access.

Step 2: Once inside the web UI, click on the settings (gear wheel) icon located in the upper right hand corner and go to, Network>>P2P. In the P2P menu, deselect the Enable checkbox to disable P2P. When complete, click on Save to save the settings to your device. 

P2P4.PNG

Congratulations! You have just disabled the P2P functionality for your device. Please note that if you have disabled P2P, you will not be able to connect your device the the Amcrest View Pro app via a P2P connection or access any Amcrest View P2P connections unless otherwise enabled. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.